MIVG 2016 πŸ₯‡

Aloha Amigos,

So as promised, here are the post on MIVG which stands for Medical Inter Varsity Games . And this year MIVG was held at UKM Bangi and received around 2000+ participation. Making it the biggest involvement of students from various universities and colleges since 2009. Also , this year marks the year USM finally send a contingent of athletes consists of 134 medical students from all five batch. How interesting !

So to be fair, the person in charge for each game did a selection session to decide on a team. Despite being a first year student – with a not really that steadfast skills – the seniors accepted me to be a part of their team. Perhaps for exposure purpose but I’m thankful anyway. Especially, those practices with them before the game really helped me to improve a lot. The best one I had was the last game during the test court session. Thanks seniors. Yeay Volley ball team !

img-20161212-wa0030

I’ll pretend I did not miss playing with them

Day 1

We went to UKM on the night of 8th December and arrived 9th December morning. Check in into our rooms , went for breakfast then straight to the court to do some practice. That evening I did nothing but sleep and then Qaisara, Hariz and I went for food hunting around Bangi ! Originally we wanted to try Mee Tarik but then , as suggested by the our grabcar driver, he sent us to have sate Kajang. Which is quite okay but my favorite part is when we went for strolling around the food truck areas.

So many food trucks and so many food to choose from! I bought a bowl of toppoki (a korean dish) because I have been craving for it. But it got more interesting when Qaisara and I found out that Hariz never taste one, so we gave him a try of the snack. He took a bite and make such an odd face with funny comments. Eventually, I think he likes it. However to be honest, not the best topokki out there. I still think topokki from Dubuyo is the best one I’ve taste so far.

Okay done with food hunting. We went back to hostels and get some rest. The very next day was our game day !

Day 2

That morning we had to assemble at the foyer as early as 7 AM because we had to attend the morning ceremony. All athletes wore the official contingent jersey and yes the spirit that morning was on fire ! Everyone were excited for their games .

Basically my day was going to opening ceremony, went to volleyball match, support other member’s games and sleep. That night had dinner with friends and sleep. Sounds simple but the memories were precious and I’ll keep it to myself. hehe

About the volleyball matches , there were many complications and problems arises due to the management team. Also, some players who misunderstood the rules and regulations.I prefer not to tell here, feel free to ask about my experience if you are interested.

Of course its not happening to just volley players, almost other players from different games had the same experience too. But, we had our lesson and next year we know how to deal with this. In shaa Allah.

I also met a few of my friends from pre-med and it felt great to come to a place where not everyone is a stranger. But we didn’t get to spend much time due to everyone’s busy schedules.

Day 2

I woke up early that morning thinking that I had to assemble at 7, but turns out it was only for those involved in competitions. Supporters are going by bus at 9. And so I cleaned my room and went for breakfast with the seniors. How lovely.

Until someone suddenly make an appearance with her white high heels and gorgeously looking like she’s going to a prestige dinner. Yes you kill with that look. Ahahahaha she wore it so well to the extend she felt insecure thinking that she might be over-dress. Or maybe she did not? One glance at her and you know it- yep its Nadia Iman.

I literally hang out with her , from watching to Amirah 1500 m long distance running to watching Alice’s tennis games. We all went out for lunch that after afternoon and thank you Alice for everything. No, thanks everyone for a warmth and lovely lunch.

czymcqpuuaa4qh7

Afterwards, we went back to the stadium and supports our member till the rest of the event . I sincerely admirer all the seniors that went to MIVG on how supportive and skillful they are. Track and field contestant basically swipe all those gold , silver medals and we were all so proud of them.

img_1627

Look at our little Mirah running !Β 

We went back to hostel , packed our stuff and leave UKM that night. A little part of my heart muffled in silence, I was tired and wanted to go home but at the same time I enjoyed being there so much. However , every good thing need to come to an end.

That night we went to IOI, Β bought ourselves some dinner and went all the way to USM. Our bas was the second to arrive, around 7.30 AM.

Was playing truant worth it for MIVG? Indeed yes. I would definitely try harder and participate again next year, In shaa Allah. Oh yes , USM was the first-runner up with the most medals !

15403558_223215061456680_3424818917674057728_n1

first-day-18

I guess that’s all for this post. Sorry it took longer than promised.

Thank you.

Assalamualaikum.

 

 

Leave a Reply

